

For additional information, contact:

Liz Massey
Director of Communications
Cabot Public School District
501-843-3363 (x.1063)
liz.massey@cps.k12.ar.us

June 23, 2015

MEDIA RELEASE:

CABOT'S STEVE ROBERTS NAMED 2014-2015 ATHLETIC DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR

The Arkansas High School Athletic Administrators Association will recognize Steve Roberts as the 2014-2015 Athletic Director of the Year at its annual summer meeting at 12:30 p.m., Thursday, June 25th, at the Hilton Garden Inn in Conway.

Roberts was selected by his peers as the 2014-2015 Athletic Director of the Year as well as the Class 7A Athletic Director of the Year.

Roberts has served as the Cabot athletic director since 2011. Prior to this position, Roberts was the head football coach at Arkansas State University for nine seasons. His teams won the Sun Belt Conference Team Academic Award eight of the nine years and his team's graduation rate and team grade point average exceeded those of the general student population.

The 2005 A-State team earned the first Division 1 bowl berth in school history by winning the Sun Belt Conference Championship, the first championship since ASU made the jump to Division 1 athletics in the early 1990's. Roberts led his team to the schools only victory over a team from a BCS conference by beating Texas A&M in College Station in 2008. While at Arkansas State University he had several players selected in the NFL Draft, including some among the highest selections in school history. Roberts has earned victories over coaches who have won national championships and Super Bowls.

Along with Roberts, winners of the Athletic Directors of the Year for each classification will be honored Thursday:

- 2A Carla Catlett, Western Yell County
- 3A Randal Betts, Cedarville
- 4A Mike Green, Prairie Grove
- 5A David Hixson, Blytheville
- 6A Paul Johnston, Marion
- 7A Mike Lee, Bryant / Steve Roberts, Cabot
- Overall Steve Roberts

^{*}This is the third time the Athletic Director of the Year award has been presented to a Cabot athletic director. Johnny White received the honor in 2001-2002 and 2010-2011.