June 22, 2015

For Immediate Release

AHSAAA Announces AD of the Year Awards Chris Babb, AHSAAA Publicity chair chris.babb@arkadelphiaschools.org

The Arkansas High School Athletic Administrators' Association will recognize the 2014-15 winners of the Athletic Director of the Year awards at its annual summer meeting at 12:30 p.m. on Thursday, June 25, at the Hilton Garden Inn in Conway.

The luncheon is being held in conjunction with the annual Arkansas High School Coaches' Association summer clinic.

AHSAAA members select award winners during the school year. Individual winners are selected from each classification after conferences and districts nominate a winner from their respective conferences. A winner is named for each classification that receives nominations and an overall AD of the Year Winner is selected as well.

The winners of the Athletic Directors of the Year for each classification and the overall winner for the 2014-15 year are as follows:

2A – Carla Catlett, Western Yell County

3A – Randall Betts, Cedarville

4A – Mike Green, Prairie Grove

5A – David Hixson, Blytheville

6A – Paul Johnston, Marion

7A – Mike Lee, Bryant / Steve Roberts, Cabot

Overall – Steve Roberts, Cabot

Add a High School Athletic Administration award to the list of awards earned by the 2014-15 Class 7A and Overall Athletic Director of the Year, Steve Roberts of Cabot.

Roberts just completed his fifth year as Athletic Director for one of Arkansas' largest school districts after serving as the head football coach at Arkansas State for nine seasons.

Roberts, Director of Athletics for Cabot Public Schools, is a graduate of Joe T. Robinson High School and graduated cum laude in 1987 from Ouachita Baptist University. Roberts earned his Masters of Education from Southern Arkansas University in 1989.

He has spent the last 28 years serving in athletics at the high school and collegiate level and as a Head Football Coach he has led three programs to post season play and to each programs biggest win in school history.

While at Arkansas State, Roberts' teams won the Sun Belt Conference Team Academic Award in eight of his nine seasons in Jonesboro and his team's graduation rate and team grade point average exceeded those of the general student population.

The 2005 A-State team earned the first Division 1 bowl berth in school history by winning the SunBelt Conference Championship, the first championship since ASU made the jump to Division 1 athletics in the early 1990's.

Roberts led his team to the school's only victory over a team from a BCS conference by beating Texas A&M in College Station in 2008. While at ASU, he had several players selected in the NFL Draft, including some among the highest selections in school history.

Roberts was the Head Football Coach at Northwestern State University in Louisiana in 2000 and 2001. While at NSU, Roberts led the Demons to the 2001 Division 1AA National Playoffs. The 2001 season also included a 24-21 victory over perennial power TCU. He was named one of three finalists for the prestigious Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year Award.

From 1994-99, Coach Roberts was the Head Football Coach at Southern Arkansas University and from 97-99 led his team to a 26-5 record, including being the first program in the state of Arkansas to compete in the Division II National Playoffs and win a Division II Conference Championship. His team's record was the best in the state over this three-year period. While at SAU, Roberts also served as an instructor in the Department of Mathematics.

Roberts has earned victories over coaches who have won national championships and Super Bowls. He has also been honored with numerous Coach of the Year Awards. Prior to being named the youngest collegiate Head Football Coach in the country, Roberts served as an assistant coach at SAU and Texas High School from 1988-93.

Steve and his wife Sherri are the proud parents of Abby Roberts, a junior at Ouachita Baptist University. Roberts enjoys spending time being involved in church activities, hunting, fishing and reading.